- Ostseebad Binz
- Strandpromenade 4
Formerly known as: Villa Möwe
Architecture: Built in the resort architectural style
History/proprietors pre-1945: The Meincke sisters, who already owned the Villa Daheim, commissioned the Villa Möwe in 1893. In 1894, the property was advertised in Grieben’s Rügen guidebook as follows: The Meyncke sisters’ guest- and lodging houses, the Daheim on Putbuser Straße and the Möwe on the beach, offer visitors of the resort and summer holidaymakers, esp. ladies and their families, a friendly reception. From 1904 to 1920, Miss M. Salin became the proprietress and ran the Villa Möwe as a premium guesthouse. The property changed hands several times between then and 1933. At that point, a Miss Helene Lange acquired the building, renaming it Villa Sturmvogel.
Post 1990: In 1997/98, Villa Sturmvogel was renovated by the Reimann family from Hamburg. The property had been returned to Mr Reimann’s aunt following reunification.
Current use: Family-run apartments.
Fascinating fact: Pictures by the Sassnitz painter Gudrun Arnold adorn the building’s apartments and corridors. While the corridors function as a kind of exhibition of works to buy, the pieces in the apartments are not for sale.