Previous names: Villa Daheim
Today: Villa Jagdschloss
Architecture: Villa Jagdschloss stands on the old foundations of Villa Daheim and still has the old cellars. The wooden conservatories and verandas were no longer present during reconstruction and were modeled on the original.
Year of construction: Before 1890
History/owners until 1945: The Daheim guesthouse and lodging house, owned by the Meyncke siblings, was probably first mentioned in 1896 in Griebens Reisebücher, a guidebook to the island. The advertisement read: Ostseebad Binz, Insel Rügen – The guesthouses and lodgings of the Meyncke siblings, DAHEIM on Putbuser Straße and MÖVE on the beach, offer a friendly welcome to spa guests and summer visitors, especially ladies and families. In addition, the text of the aforementioned island guide mentioned the lodging house as follows: … Particular praise is given to the Daheim lodging houses run by the Meyncke siblings with excellent boarding (4.50-5 marks) and Miss von Koenig, both located on Putbuser Strasse …
In 1905, the 19-room villa was located at Putbuser Strasse 12 (Note: the street numbers have changed over time). The owner, Miss Luise Meyncke, continued to run the house. In 1911, the Binz guide referred to it as “the Nordic Sorrento”: Christian family guesthouse “Daheim.” Quiet house. Good food. Best social circles. Miss Meyncke. A new owner, Emil Fritz, was mentioned in 1928 (also in the 1931 Binz guide).
GDR era: During the GDR era, Villa Daheim was used as a residential building. Various tenants lived in the main house and the rear building (today’s “Perle” house).
After 1990: After 1990, the villa was returned to its former owners, who had been expropriated in 1953 as part of the Rose campaign. The Seibold family bought the house in 1998 (together with Villa Anna, now Elisenhof on Hauptstraße) and renovated it in the following years after gutting it. At the time of purchase, some apartments were already vacant, especially in the rear building and annex. Among others, the artist Andreas Schiller, known in Binz for his “apple paintings,” lived under the roof. His studio is located in the Binz art mile (Margaretenstraße).
After the renovation was completed, the building was given the new name “Villa Jagdschloss” when it opened as an apartment building.
Current use: Privately run apartment building
Interesting facts/anecdotes: A photo documentation of the renovation and reconstruction of the building can be found in the stairwell.
Photos: Boy Collection, Seibold Family, Binzer Bucht Tourismus Collection
Text: Binzer Bucht Tourismus